About the Award

award trophyIn 1998 the Martha and Floyd Heart & Hands Society was founded with a small endowment from the estate of Martha and Floyd Kinzel. The intent of the society is to provide recognition to a person who has given of her or his heart and hands in the service of peace, justice, or the environment who might otherwise not be recognized.

imageAs the endowment has grown, we have been able to offer an accompanying monetary award which is given to a local, non-profit organization designated by the awardee. The award will be announced at the annual Keweenaw Gold event in April.

The awardee receives a $1500 monetary award to donate to a non-profit of their choice.


The task of the Board of Directors is to annually solicit nominations for the Heart & Hands Award. Over the past years many outstanding individuals have been nominated. And although only one is selected each year to receive the award, hearing the stories of how all these individuals have enriched our community has been a wonderful experience.

imageDo you know anyone who has given of their Heart & Hands in the service of peace, justice or the environment in our local community? Please consider nominating this person (or couple) for this year’s Heart & Hands Award. The nomination form only takes a moment to fill out, and the recognition will mean a lot to a deserving individual!


2019 Nominations due APRIL 3rd!

Submit nominations to:

Heart & Hands Award
53044 Hwy M203
Hancock, MI 49930
or Email (tkinzel@pasty.net)

Include the following information:

  1. Candidate name and address
  2. Your name, address, phone number, and email
  3. Answer in 500 words or less:

    How has the candidate had a significant impact on the Keweenaw community giving of themselves in a caring, committed, or heartfelt way in the area of peace, justice, human needs and/or environmental stewardship? Please be specific about what form their contribution and involvement has taken.

Download the Nominations Form >



Year Awardee(s) Selected Organization

1999 Dana Richter (no monetary award)

2000 Robert & Viola Brown Keweenaw Land Trust

2001 Robert Linn Little Brothers

2002 Chuck Harris Habitat for Humanity

2003 Linda Rulison F.O.L.K.

2004 Carolyn Peterson Omega House

2005 Vern Simula Keweenaw Sustainability Project

2006 Shalini Suryanarayana Barbara Kettle Gundlach Shelter

2007 Barbara Kendall Keweenaw Land Trust

2008 Michele Bourdieu Save the Wild UP

2009 Barb Hardy & Rick Loduha Sustainable Keweenaw Resource Center

2010 Cindy Drake Keweenaw Land Trust

2011 Joan Chadde L.S.S.I.

2012 Gina Nicholas Pilgrim River Watershed

Gratiot Lake Conservancy

HKCD - Bête Grise/ Tobacco River Watershed Project
  Maria Sliva (Youth) Ministry to the Poor in Mexico

2013 Bonnie Hay Gratiot Lake Conservancy


2014 Ron Lahti Little Brothers Friends of the Elderly
  Rachel Chard (Youth) Simple Kindness for Youth

2015 Abhilash Kantamneni Barbara Kettle Gundlach Shelter

2016 no awardee  

2017 no awardee  

2018 Karena Schmidt Lake Superior Stewardship Initiative (Baraga)

2019 Carol Eckstrom  


Since 1999


Howard & Selma Anderson
Kate Alvord & Kraig Klugness
Cathy & Mike Aten
Greg Green
Julie Gruenwald
Connie Hawley
Amy & Craig Hughes
Emma Johnson
Earnes Poisson
Bill Sewell
Mary Tuisku
Craig Waddell
Ray Weglarz
Emily Fiala
Joe Kirkish
Amanda Chopp
Sister Rose Tauschek
Carol Rose
Mary Wright
Audrey Friar
Dave Bach
Keren Tischler
Joe Kaplan
Ed Stephens
Jan Olli
Ruthann Davey
Ann West
Kristine Bradof
Bill & Nancy Leonard
Dave Harmon
Lynnette Borree
Tracie Clanaugh
Greg Wright & Erika Vye
Kailyn McMahon
Carol Ekstrom
Scott Rutherford
Charles Eschbach
Mike Cooper
Bob Strykowski
Erika Vye
Pat Toczydlowski